Monday, July 15, 2024

    Latest Posts

    What is Screen Actors Guild Awards?

    The SAG Awards (Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists) are honors bestowed by the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (SAG-AFTRA). The award was established in 1952 to honor outstanding achievements in film and prime-time television.

    ‘The Actor’ is the name of the statuette, which depicts a naked male figure wearing both a comedy and a tragedy mask. The American Fine Arts Foundry in Burbank, California, is cast in solid bronze and stands 16 inches (41 cm) tall. It weighs over 12 pounds (5.4 kg).

    Since 1995, the SAG Awards have been one of Hollywood’s most important award shows. The awards are nominated by two committees, one for cinema and one for television, each comprising 2100 members of the union, who are chosen at random each year, with the entire membership (165,000 as of 2012) voting for the winners.

    Screen Actors Guild Awards

    It is said to be a predictor of acting success at the Academy Awards. Since 1998, the awards have been broadcast on TNT, and since 2007, they have been simulcast on TBS.

    The first SAG Awards were broadcast live from Universal Studios’ Stage 12 on February 25, 1995. The second SAG Honors were broadcast live from the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium, followed by the Shrine Auditorium for future awards. The award show’s first host in its twenty-four-year existence, actress Kristen Bell, was revealed on December 4, 2017, and she will preside over the ceremony.

    Also READ: A book about the making of The Infinity Saga Movies

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss